officers and board of directors

Executive Committee

  • President: David Alsobrook, Mobile
  • Vice President: Valerie Burnes, University of West Alabama
  • Secretary: Mark Wilson, Auburn University
  • Membership Secretary: Maiben Beard, Auburn University
  • Treasurer: Gayle Thomas, Abbeville

Immediate Past President: Jeff Jakeman, Auburn

At-large Members: Dan Puckett and Gayle Thomas

Click here to read biographies of the first fifty presidents.

Board of Directors

2016-2019 Term

Mike Bunn, Historic Blakely State Park
Jane Shelton Dale, Camden
Dan Haulman, Air Force Historical Research Agency
Laura Hill, Encyclopedia of Alabama
Pamela King, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Elvin Lang, Black Heritage Council
Brandon Owens, Alabama State University
Christine Sears, University of Alabama in Huntsville

2015-2018 Term
Jim Baggett, Birmingham Public Library
Ann Chambless, Jackson County Heritage Association
James Cox, Grove Hill
Scotty Kirkland, Alabama Department of Archives and History

Herbert J. Lewis (Jim), Birmingham
Debra Love, Fairfield
William Melton, Evergreen
Doug Purcell, Eufaula

2014-2017 Term
Jim Day, University of Montevallo
Ralph Draughon, Jr., Alabama Historical Commission
Staci Glover, Gardendale
Jay Lamar, Alabama Bicentennial Commission
Susanna Leberman, Huntsville-Madison County Public Library
Rebecca Minder, Alabama Heritage
Dan Puckett, Troy University
Gayle Thomas, Abbeville (elected 2015)

The Alabama Review

Lonnie Burnett, Business Editor

Matthew Downs, Manuscript Editor

Michael Robinson, Book Review Editor 


Mark Wilson, Auburn University

Chriss Doss, Birmingham