top of page


The Alabama Historical Association sponsors several awards:

The Clinton Jackson Coley Book Award for the best work on local history.


The James F. Sulzby Book Award for the best book on Alabama history.


The Virginia V. Hamilton Award for contributions to Alabama history.


The Milo B. Howard Award for the best article published in The Alabama Review in a two-year period.


The James Ray Kuykendall Award, a local historical society recognition award.

The Clinton Jackson and Evelyn Coley Research Grant, a grant awarded every other year to a graduate student working on an Alabama-related topic.


The Digital History Award recognizes projects that deliver information on Alabama's past using the Internet and social media tools. ​​​


The Rucker Agee Service Award recognizes an individual who has made extraordinary contributions toward fostering knowledge and appreciation of Alabama history by promoting the mission of the Association.


​The Historical Museum Award recognizes exceptional achievement by museums in promulgating state or local history.

The Sarah Woolfolk Wiggins Doctoral Dissertation in Alabama History Award recognizes an outstanding dissertation on an Alabama history topic and honors the life and work of Sarah Woolfolk Wiggins.

bottom of page