top of page

Officers and Board of Directors

Executive Committee​

President: Ruth Truss, University of Montevallo

Vice President: Richard Bailey, Montgomery

Secretary: Mark Wilson, Auburn University

Membership Secretary: Maiben Beard, Auburn University

Treasurer: Gayle Thomas, Abbeville


Immediate Past President: Jim Baggett, Birmingham Public Library


At-large Members: Debra Love, Susan Reynolds


Click here to read biographies of the first fifty presidents.


Board of Directors​
2023 - 2026 Term

Amber Broadhead, Edgewood Elementary School

Blake Busbin, Alabama State Department of Education

Deidre Dees, Poarch Band of Creek Indians

Ashley Dumas, University of West Alabama

Hannah Garmon, City of Birmingham

Josephine Bolling McCall, Elmore Bolling Initiative

Anna Mullican, Oakville Indian Mounds

Shari Williams, Ridge Macon County Archaeology Project

2022 - 2025 Term

Emily Blejwas, Alabama Folklife Association

Dana Chandler, Tuskegee University Archives

Kerry Dunaway, Clarke County Historical Association

Linda Felton-Smith, Troy

Christopher Maloney, Encyclopedia of Alabama

Donna Manson, Montgomery

Susan Reynolds, Alabama Heritage

Graydon Rust, Alabama Humanities Alliance

2021 - 2024 Term

John Allison, Morgan County Archives

Annette Bradford, Jackson County Historical Association 

Rhonda Davis, Mobile

Ronald Fritze, Athens State University  

Debra Love, Black Heritage Council 

Laura Murray, Auburn

Marty Olliff, Troy University Dothan

Justin Rudder, Alabama Department of Archives and History 

The Alabama Review

Matthew Downs, Editor

Michael Robinson, Book Review Editor



Mark Wilson, Auburn University


Chriss Doss, Birmingham

bottom of page