top of page

Sarah Woolfolk Wiggins Doctoral Dissertation in Alabama History Award


The Wiggins Doctoral Dissertation in Alabama History Award honors former AHA president, editor of The Alabama Review, and first female faculty member of the University of Alabama history department Sarah Woolfolk Wiggins (1934-2020).  The award is presented in even-numbered years and recognizes a doctoral dissertation completed at any institution of higher education in the last two years focusing on Alabama history.



List of previous winners:

2022: Melissa Young, University of Alabama

“Magic City Jews: Integration and Public Memory in Birmingham, Alabama, 1871-1911”


To donate to the award fund, please mail a check to:

Alabama Historical Association

Pebble Hill

Auburn, AL 36849

Or click the link below to make an online contribution.

Wiggins Dissertation Award 2022 Melissa Young.jpg
bottom of page