top of page
James Ray Kuykendall Award

Named for the late James Ray Kuykendall, AHA past president and founding president of Landmarks of DeKalb County, this award honors a local historical society in Alabama for outstanding achievements and for significant contributions to a greater appreciation of community and state history. The award is given in odd-numbered years. Any historical society is eligible to apply, provided it has not received the award in the last ten years. 


This year’s winner will be recognized at the Association’s annual meeting in Prattville on April 14, 2023.


Download the Application Form

The most important part of the application is a narrative summary of no more than two (2) pages providing an overview of the organization and its membership and describing the accomplishments of the organization over the past ten years.  Be sure to include any applicable activities and accomplishments relating to:


  • Historic Preservation

  • Lectures, Tours, Trips, Festivals

  • Pamphlets, Books, Newsletters, or other Publications

  • Fundraising Activities and Grants Received

  • National Register Properties and Historical Districts

  • Ownership of Historical Landmarks

  • Maintenance of a Web Site, Museum or Local History Archives

  • Other Outreach and Publicity Activities

  • Awards received

Mail or email the completed application packet no later than February 15, 2023 to the chair of the Kuykendall Award Committee:


Erik London

Alabama Department of Archives and History

P. O. Box 300100

Montgomery, AL 36130

Previous Award Winners​

2020: Autauga County Heritage Association

2018: Leeds Historical Society

2016: Covington Historical Society

​​2014: Tallapoosa Historical Society

2012: Shelby County Historical Society

2010: Landmarks of DeKalb County

2008: Eufaula Heritage Association

2007: Collinsville Historical Association

2006: Blountsville Historical Society

2005: Butler County Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc.

2004: Jackson County Historical Association

2003: Chattahoochee Valley Historical Society

2002: Hoover Historical Society

2001: Guntersville Historical Society

2000: Cullman Historical Society

1999: Choctaw County Historical Society

1998: Auburn Heritage Association

1997: Autauga County Heritage

1996: The Enterprise-Pea River Historical and Genealogical Society

1995: Montgomery County Historical Society

1994: Shelby County Historical Society

1993: Clarke County Historical Society

1992: Birmingham Historical Society

1991: Marengo County Historical Society

1990: Historic Mobile Preservation

1989: Tennessee Valley Historical Society

1988: Hale County Historical Society

1987: Landmark Foundation of Montgomery

1986: Tuscaloosa County Preservation Society

1985: Coosa County Historical Society

1984: Landmarks of DeKalb County, Inc.

1983: Washington County Historical Society

1982: Huntsville-Madison County Historical Society

1981: Henry County Historical Society

1980: Blount County Historical Society

1979: Talladega County Historical Association

bottom of page