top of page
Clinton Jackson and Evelyn Coley Book Award

The Clinton Jackson and Evelyn Coley Book Award goes to the best book or pamphlet focusing on local historical concerns, including but not limited to the history of an Alabama community, town or county, or any institution therein (church, business, non-profit, etc.).

The next award will be given in 2025.


















Previous recipients of the Clinton Jackson Coley Award:

2023: Bertis D. English, Civil Wars, Civil Beings, and Civil Rights in Alabama's Black Belt: A History of Perry County. University of Alabama Press, 2020.


2020: G. Ward Hubbs, Tuscaloosa: 200 Years in the Making. University of Alabama Press, 2019.


2018: David Ernest Alsobrook, Southside: Eufaula’s Cotton Mill Village and Its People, 1890-1945. Mercer University Press, 2017.

2016: John Sledge, The Mobile River​. Columbia: The University of South Carolina Press, 2015.

2014: James Sanders Day, Diamonds in the Rough: A History of Alabama’s Cahaba Coal Field. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 2013.

2012: Mary Ann Neeley, The Works of Matthew Blue, Montgomery's First Historian. Montgomery: New South Books, 2010.


2010: Hasan Kwame Jeffries, Bloody Lowndes: Civil Rights and Black Power in Alabama's Black Belt. New York: New York University Press, 2009.


2008: Gregory A. Waselkov, A Conquering Spirit: Fort Mims and the Redstick War of 1813-1814. Tuscaloosa, Ala.: University of Alabama Press, 2006.


2006: Harvey H. Jackson, III, Inside Alabama: A Personal History of My State. Tuscaloosa, Ala.: University of Alabama Press, 2005.

2004: Alan Grady, When Good Men Do Nothing: The Assassination of Albert Patterson. Tuscaloosa, Ala.: University of Alabama Press, 2003.

2002: John Hayman with Clara Ruth Hayman, Judge of the Senate: Howell Heflin's Career of Politics and Principle, Montgomery, Ala.: NewSouth Books, 2001.


2000: James R. Bennett, Tannehill and the Growth of the Alabama Iron Industry, McCalla, Ala., Alabama Historic Ironworks Commission, 1999.


1998: John Hayman, Bitter Harvest: Richmond Flowers and the Civil Rights Revolution. Montgomery, Ala.: Blackbelt Press, 1996.

1996: Leah Rawls Atkins, Nineteenth Century Club: Celebrating 100 Years of "Mutual Mental Improvement."Birmingham, Birmingham Publishing Company, 1995.

1994: John B. Scott, Memories of the Mount, Montgomery, Ala., Black Belt Press, 1993.

1992: Val. McGee. Claybank Memories: A History of Dale County, Alabama. Ozark, Ala.: Dale County Historical Society, 1989.

1990: Henry DeLeon Southerland, Jr., and Jerry Elijah Brown. The Federal Road Through Georgia, the Creek Nation and Alabama, 1806-1836. Tuscaloosa, The University of Alabama Press, 1989.

9780817320690 copy.jpg
bottom of page