top of page

The Virginia Van Der Veer Hamilton Award is given based upon contributions to Alabama history which encourage joint endeavors and mutual understanding among nonprofessional and professional historians and a better understanding of Alabama history among the general public. 

Nomination packets should include a letter of nomination (not to exceed two pages) that outlines the nominee’s accomplishments; supporting materials and documentation of accomplishments; letters of support (not to exceed five).


Please submit nominations by January 15, 2024 to Dr. Bert Frandsen at

Hamilton Award 2022 Peggy Towns.jpg

2022: Peggy Allen Towns

2019: Frazine Taylor

2017: Mary Ann Neeley

2015: Elizabeth Wells

2013: Jim Baggett

2011: Virginia Pounds Brown

2009: Jay Lamar

2007: B.B. Comer Memorial Library, Sylacauga, Alabama

2005: Wayne Flynt

2003: Leah Rawls Atkins

2001: Mary Jane McDaniel and Lee Allen

1999: Hardy Jackson

1996: Robert Stewart

1993: Ed Bridges

1991: Michael Thomason

bottom of page